Skip Navigation LinksHome / About / Leadership

SCP Leadership

Jennifer Argo
Carthy Professor of Marketing
University of Alberta School of Business
Immediate Past President (Publications Chair)
Stijn M.J. van Osselaer
Professor of Marketing
Samuel Curtis Johnson Graduate School of Management
Cornell University
President-Elect (Elections Committee Chair)
Jeff Inman
Associate Dean for Research and Faculty
Albert Wesley Frey Professor of Marketing
Professor of Business Administration
University of Pittsburgh
JoAndrea (Joey) Hoegg
Associate Professor
Marketing and Behavioural Science Division
Sauder School of Business
University of British Columbia
American Psychological Association, Council of Representatives
Lynn Kahle
University of Oregon
Department of Marketing
Executive Officer
Larry D. Compeau
Professor of Marketing
Box 5795, Snell Hall
Clarkson University School of Business
Potsdam, NY 13699

(315) 268-6605
Scientific Affairs Committee Chair
Bob Wyer
Professor, HKUST

The Scientific Affairs Committee is responsible for fostering the scientific foundations of the Society, and for promoting the interests of the Society in matters of scientific practice. In addition, the committee is charged with soliciting nominations and recommending recipients to the Executive Committee for the Society's awards for Distinguished Scientific and Early Career Contribution. There is no explicit schedule for the making of these awards. The recipients of these awards will be determined by an affirmative vote of two-thirds of the members of the Executive Committee.
Ethnic Minority Affairs Committee Chair
David Wooten
Alfred L. Edwards Associate Professor of Marketing
Ross School of Business
University of Michigan

The Ethnic Minority Affairs Committee enhances scientific understanding of culture and ethnicity by fostering communication, coordination, and interaction among all Society members, both minority and non-minority, with an interest in ethnic minority research. This will be accomplished through network building and performing liaison functions. Also, the committee will play a key role in shaping policies and key issues of the Society involving ethnic minority research and the professional development of ethnic minority members.
Education and Training Chair
Ashwani Monga
Professor and Department Chair, Rutgers

The Education and Training Committee engages in activities designed to foster the next generation of consumer psychologists. Among its activities are coordination of the prestigious SCP-Dissertation Proposal Competition and the Best Student Paper Award for the annual winter conference. In addition, the committee gathers information of interest to the Society related to graduate education and careers in consumer psychology.
Ph.D. Student Representative
Alixandra Barasch
PhD Student, Wharton Business School

Fellows Committee Chair
Valerie Folkes
Marshall School of Business
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0095

The Fellows Committee is charged with actively recruiting and reviewing applications for nomination of Society members as Fellows in the Society, and in the American Psychological Association. The committee chair also assists nominees in the preparation of their application materials.
Conference Committee Co-Chairs
2017 - Kate White and On Amir 2016 - Nina Mazar and Gal Zauberman 2015 - Andrea Morales (ASU) and Patti Williams (Wharton)

2014 – Mark Forehand (University of Washington) and Americus Reed (Wharton)

2013 - Tom Meyvis (NYU) and Rajagopal Raghunathan

2012 - Amitav Chakravarti (NYU) and Anirban Mukhopadhyay (HKUST)

2011 - Naomi Mandel (Arizona State University) and David Silvera (The University of Texas at San Antonio)

2010 - Meg Meloy (Penn State) and Adam Duhachek (Indiana University)

2009 - Shelly Jain (Indiana University), Alex Chernev (Northwestern University), Michal Herzenstein (University of Delware)

2008 - Maria Cronley (Miami University) and DJ Nayakankuppum (University of Iowa)

The Conference Committee is responsible for organizing the Society's annual scientific meeting. Duties include publicizing and planning the meeting program.
Editor: Journal of Consumer Psychology
Amna Kirmani
The Robert H. Smith School of Business
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742-6105
Co-Editor: Journal of Consumer Psychology
Anirban Mukhopadhyay
Hong Kong
Registered Agent
Gene Topper, Ph.D.
3242 Prestwick Lane
Northbrook, IL 60062
Jennifer Escalas
Vanderbilt University
Associate Professor of Management (Marketing)

Sean Rhea
Vanderbilt University
Technical Director (eLab)

Media Contact
Elina Halonen
Communications Officer, SCP

Phone: +44 7932 750420
Skype: +1-347-7080323

Past Presidents

1962Dik Warren Twedt
1963Clark Leavitt
1964Steuart H. Britt
1965Raymond A. Bauer
1966George Katona
1967Herbert E. Krugman
1968Robert Perloff
1969Joseph E. Bradley
1970Milton L. Blum
1971Joseph M. Kamen
1972Leo Bogart
1973Theodore F. Dunn
1974Jacob Jacoby
1975Robert C. Nuckols
1976Lester P. Guest
1977Valentine Appel
1978Maureen Kallick
1979William Wells
1980Jagdish Sheth
1981Ivan Ross
1982Leon Kaplan
1983Joseph G. Smith
1984Arch G. Woodside
1985George Szybillo and Gene Topper
1986David W. Stewart
1987Stuart B. Tolley
1988Joel Saegert
1989Linda Alwitt
1990John Cacioppo
1991Timothy C. Brock
1992Martin Fishbein
1993Marvin E. Goldberg
1994David Brinberg
1995Frank R. Kardes
1996Carole Macklin
1997Lynne R. Kahle
1998David W. Schumann
1999Curtis P. Haugtvedt
2000John C. Mowen. III
2001Marian Friestad
2002Paul M. Herr
2003Dipankar Chakravarti
2004Dawn Iacobucci
2005Durairaj Maheswararan
2006Laura A. Peracchio
2007Joe Priester
2008Steven S. Posavac
2009Hans Baumgartner
2010L. J. Shrum
2011Vicki Morwitz
2012Michel Tuan Pham
2013Susan Broniarczyk
2014Stijn van Osselaer